• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mattwallace24

mattwallace24

Starfish

• Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:21 PM

This is my first time uploading a photo for critique.  Looking for some feedback and constructive criticism.   

This was shot with a Nikon D90/Tokina 10-17 FE using ISO 320, f/8, and 1/250 shutter speed.  Twin YS-1D strobes set to 1/4 power or less.  

Picture was shot mid-afternoon at surface in dark green water (Rhode Island).  Shark was approximately 7 feet long, so struggled lighting entire shot during these "nose in" approaches.  Also was my first time shooting with twin strobes, so I'm sure I still have a lot to learn.  

The original picture was shot in RAW (~12 MP), but had to use a much smaller jpeg to get below the 1000k file attachment limitation.  

Let me know what you think.  

Regards, Matt

Attached Images

• Blue Shark.jpg

#2 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

Humpback Whale

• 3015 posts
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 29 July 2013 - 01:12 PM

Love it Matt,

Blues are such gorgeous animals.  If it was mine I would try to lighten it up just enough the see the dorsal a little more clearly.  Either globally of locally. The fins are such a critical element to most folks expectations I'd see if I could make it a little more prominent.

Cheers 

The Fin Foundation
My Images on Flikr

Canon7D & 40D, 60mm, 100mm, 17-40L, Tokina 10-17, Nauticam 7D, Sea & Sea MDX-40D YS-250's ULCS arms, Lightroom

#3 mattwallace24

mattwallace24

Starfish

• Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 July 2013 - 02:40 PM

Steve - Thanks for the feedback.  I'll work on  the dorsal fin as soon as I find some time.  

Matt

#4 tdpriest

tdpriest

Sperm Whale

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2102 posts
  • Interests:Diving medicine, warm water, scenery...

Posted 31 July 2013 - 01:58 PM

I'd be very happy with the image as it stands: the lighting emphasises the really nice reflection.

#5 Alastair