Interesting Reflection

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew76

Andrew76

Starfish

• Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Interests:SCUBA, Photography, Running.

Posted 06 August 2013 - 05:51 PM

Hey everyone - I'm quite new to underwater photography, but not to photography in general. 

I just took my new Ikelite housing, along with a Tokina 11-16 lens in an 8" dome port out for a spin yesterday in some pretty silty fresh water.  I ended up with some pretty interesting shots, however an interesting occurance resulted in most of my photos.  There is a reflection of the front of my lens in almost all of my photos.

After calling Ikelite, I was told that I was shooting at an 'improper angle' to the sun, and that if I correct that, it should be rectified.  Although I can see the validity to this, I find it hard to believe that all 66 photos were taken at the same 'improper angle' to the sun.

I've gone through a couple other ideas in my head, and I'm left with only one thing I think may help.  So to make a short story long..... Should I remove the UV filter from the lens!?!?!?

Thanks for any advice!

#2 Aquapaul

Aquapaul

Sting Ray

• Team Wetpixel
  • 225 posts
  • Interests:Photography above and below the waves.

Posted 07 August 2013 - 04:00 AM

Yes remove the UV filter. Also you might want to take a black sharpie and blacken out any white print on the front of the lens. Some people use black gaffer tape. It could also be light leaking from your cameras flash, there are topics about that here on Wetpixel, you could do a search.

Paul Chase

----}<))))"> ----------}<))))'>
-----------}<)))))))))*>

#3 Stoo

Stoo

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 156 posts

Posted 07 August 2013 - 04:03 AM

Andrew it might be helpful if you posted a picture showing the "rings"... I'd never seen anything like it... :)

#4 Andrew76

Andrew76

Starfish

• Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 11:05 AM