• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 loftus

loftus

Blue Whale

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4571 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 04:23 AM

I know copyright is a sensitive issue on this forum, but I think there is another side to the coin, something I call copyright extortion. I have recently received a letter demanding $1500 from Getty Images for a nondescript, very poor quality image of food that one of my employees may have posted in a blog. I can't confirm for sure that we posted it but nevertheless it is no longer there. As a photographer, I am well aware of, and sympathetic to, copyright issues, however $1500 for a 2x2 low resolution, poor quality, and nondescript image with no clear copyright labeling, is extortion. Shame on you Getty Images.

Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#2 Drew

Drew

The Controller

• Video Expert
  • 10642 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 12:46 PM

Typical strategy.  Start high and negotiate down.  This isn't legal advice but if you can't confirm it, the only way they can is to have a copy of the blog post.  There are ways to argue round it.

Drew
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.

#3 Kelpfish

Kelpfish

Giant Squid

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1602 posts

Posted 08 August 2013 - 01:40 PM

They do this all the time, hoping that because of their size people will just pay. 

Let me guess, they didn't even send you a DMCA letter, right? They usually sort of bypass that or add it to the letter and then say, "by the way you owe us $1500".

Here's some info that might help. 

http://www.extortion...tortion-letter/

Joe

Joe Belanger
Author, Catalina Island - All you Need to Know
www.californiaunderwater.com