Jump to content


Photo

diopter use with 105mm?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 team2jnd

team2jnd

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:oahu, hawaii

Posted 09 August 2013 - 12:54 PM

 

I have never used a diopter before. I have an aquatica housing for my 5d ii and am purchasing a 100mm macro. If I add a diopter, will I need to use an extension or change the port or anything? How exactly does it work? Any links or tips are very appreciated. 

Thank you,

Jim



#2 Stewart L. Sy

Stewart L. Sy

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 915 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond, BC

Posted 09 August 2013 - 01:06 PM

Are you talking about an external diopter or one that screws onto the lens?  Since you're using Aquatica and likely have their ports then Aquatica makes the Closeup kit that's matched to their macro ports and comes in a +5 or +10 power.  With external ones, you don't need an extension, just a mounting system, an internal one may need a short extension depending on the power.

 

Here's the link to the Aquatica ones.  http://www.aquatica.ca/en/accessories_closeup.html  and a link to the Subsee ones http://reefnet.ca/products/subsee/

 

External ones are more flexible as you can remove them and basically have 3 magnifications underwater.  A screw on type close up filter that mounts inside the housing pretty much limits you for the whole dive. 

 

You loose working distance with these lenses but gain a lot as both brands are multi-element and retain their magnification underwater, much more so than single elements ones.

 

Cheers

 

S.


www.stewartsy.com
SLS Photography, when your images matter....
Aquatica, Amphibico, TLC, ULCS (Philippines), Stix, iTorch, FIT, Magic Filter Dealer
Philippine Dive Trip Specialist


#3 team2jnd

team2jnd

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:oahu, hawaii

Posted 09 August 2013 - 01:07 PM

 

Thank you so much, I will look at the aquatica ones now. 



#4 team2jnd

team2jnd

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:oahu, hawaii

Posted 09 August 2013 - 01:11 PM

Looks like a great system. Any loss of image quality? From the reviews it looks like you don't but I'm wondering if anybody has used them here that can give a good review.

 



#5 Stewart L. Sy

Stewart L. Sy

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 915 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond, BC

Posted 09 August 2013 - 02:06 PM

I've used them, but my views may be viewed as biased as I sell them. ;-).  There have been a couple of posts here on the forums about diopter use.  Here's one: http://wetpixel.com/...uatica diopter

 

FWIW, there is no image degradation in the images I've taken.

 

S.


Edited by Stewart L. Sy, 09 August 2013 - 02:25 PM.

www.stewartsy.com
SLS Photography, when your images matter....
Aquatica, Amphibico, TLC, ULCS (Philippines), Stix, iTorch, FIT, Magic Filter Dealer
Philippine Dive Trip Specialist


#6 team2jnd

team2jnd

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:oahu, hawaii

Posted 09 August 2013 - 04:07 PM

That's exactly what I was looking for, thank you. You are very fortunate to work for aquatica, I love everything they make. I just wish they had a military or student discount ;)



#7 AndyBarker

AndyBarker

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bury St Edmunds Suffolk UK
  • Interests:Diving , Photography , Fishing ,

Posted 09 August 2013 - 10:31 PM

Hi,
I use the both internal & external I find on both that depth of field is something you have to use to & it can take a little while to get the
Hang of it. I would say that the external are more user friendly as has been said you can remove them under water, I think I got mine from dryron which push into the front of my SeaCam port. When I use my 12/24 wide angle Nikon I use a Lens diopter with a small
Dome port which sharpens the edges a great deal.
Regards,
Andy

Andy Barker
D800, Seacam,S45, Nikon 60mm micro, Nikon VR 105mm micro, Nikon 16x35mm, Nikon 16mm, fe, Seaflash 150ttl & Seacam flash arms


#8 andy_deitsch

andy_deitsch

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saratoga Springs, NY

Posted 10 August 2013 - 03:51 PM

I just used the +10 Subsee with a 100mm lens for the first time yesterday. What I discovered, at least on my Canon 7D is that auto-focus doesn't work once you put the +10 diopter on as it just hunts and will not focus.  I found that I had to disconnect my auto-focus from my shutter (using back button focus and changing my shutter to trigger the meter only) and then move my camera back and forth until I found focus.  I don't have a focus ring for my 100mm so this was my only option.  I was surprised how well it worked.

 

Here are a few shots using the configuration.

 

9477273048_b561f6a6ff.jpg

 

9474494957_3a63e485c3.jpg

 

9474475961_1719d55ddf.jpg

 

9477270104_852ec9dda4.jpg

 


Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D, 2x Inon z240, Tokina 10-17, Canon 60mm
Flickr: http://www.flickr.co...tos/andydeitsch

 


#9 team2jnd

team2jnd

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:oahu, hawaii

Posted 10 August 2013 - 09:50 PM

Great shots. Which adapter do you use? I love the design of the adapter that allows you to mount both the +5 and +10 at the same time but can't believe how much it costs. I guess I should stop being surprised by how much underwater photo gear costs... it's bad for my health. 



#10 AndyBarker

AndyBarker

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bury St Edmunds Suffolk UK
  • Interests:Diving , Photography , Fishing ,

Posted 10 August 2013 - 11:08 PM


I just used the +10 Subsee with a 100mm lens for the first time yesterday. What I discovered, at least on my Canon 7D is that auto-focus doesn't work once you put the +10 diopter on as it just hunts and will not focus.  I found that I had to disconnect my auto-focus from my shutter (using back button focus and changing my shutter to trigger the meter only) and then move my camera back and forth until I found focus.  I don't have a focus ring for my 100mm so this was my only option.  I was surprised how well it worked.
 
Here are a few shots using the configuration.
 Hi Andy,
Could you not focus lock on something in the same range then move your camera in to take the shot, like in the red sea with Alex, when we were on the Thistlegorm? As with subsee with my 105 micro in does hunt a lot till I get the range, this is only a thought have a great trip in the Cayman with Alex & Jarret.
Regards,
Andy

9477273048_b561f6a6ff.jpg
 
9474494957_3a63e485c3.jpg
 
9474475961_1719d55ddf.jpg
 
9477270104_852ec9dda4.jpg


Andy Barker
D800, Seacam,S45, Nikon 60mm micro, Nikon VR 105mm micro, Nikon 16x35mm, Nikon 16mm, fe, Seaflash 150ttl & Seacam flash arms


#11 andy_deitsch

andy_deitsch

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saratoga Springs, NY

Posted 11 August 2013 - 03:48 AM

Great shots. Which adapter do you use? I love the design of the adapter that allows you to mount both the +5 and +10 at the same time but can't believe how much it costs. I guess I should stop being surprised by how much underwater photo gear costs... it's bad for my health. 

 

I use the Nauticam Flip Diopter Holder which only holds one.  It costs $260 retail and screws into the 67mm thread on the front of my port.


Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D, 2x Inon z240, Tokina 10-17, Canon 60mm
Flickr: http://www.flickr.co...tos/andydeitsch

 


#12 andy_deitsch

andy_deitsch

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saratoga Springs, NY

Posted 11 August 2013 - 03:52 AM

 

I just used the +10 Subsee with a 100mm lens for the first time yesterday. What I discovered, at least on my Canon 7D is that auto-focus doesn't work once you put the +10 diopter on as it just hunts and will not focus.  I found that I had to disconnect my auto-focus from my shutter (using back button focus and changing my shutter to trigger the meter only) and then move my camera back and forth until I found focus.  I don't have a focus ring for my 100mm so this was my only option.  I was surprised how well it worked.
 
Here are a few shots using the configuration.
 Hi Andy,
Could you not focus lock on something in the same range then move your camera in to take the shot, like in the red sea with Alex, when we were on the Thistlegorm? As with subsee with my 105 micro in does hunt a lot till I get the range, this is only a thought have a great trip in the Cayman with Alex & Jarret.
Regards,
Andy
 

Hi Andy,

 

I actually tried the technique you described first where I moved my camera into position and could at least see the subject through the viewfinder but it wasn't quite in focus.  When I went to fine tune focus with auto-focus it just completely lost it.  I'll try it again at the end of this week when I expect we'll have a macro dive. You won't be surprised to learn that Jarret got a sunburn on his first day and slept all day :)

 

Andy


Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D, 2x Inon z240, Tokina 10-17, Canon 60mm
Flickr: http://www.flickr.co...tos/andydeitsch

 


#13 andy_deitsch

andy_deitsch

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saratoga Springs, NY

Posted 17 August 2013 - 03:22 PM

I was able to get auto-focus to work with my subsee +10. The trick was to use a focus light even though I thought there was plenty of ambient light but apparently not enough to get autofocus to work.

Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D, 2x Inon z240, Tokina 10-17, Canon 60mm
Flickr: http://www.flickr.co...tos/andydeitsch