• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 team2jnd

team2jnd

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 11 August 2013 - 01:30 PM

Ok, I know I am going to sound like a complete newbie and I know it's probably been asked before but how do I properly lock my aquatica port? I have the aquatica 5d ii housing and I used the port lock to lock the extension in place. However, when I attach the megadome to the extension, it turns into place but there is no click or anything to tell me it is locked. It is very easy to just rotate it counter-clockwise and remove it. I am not taking it into the water until somebody tells me this is how it works haha. I am terrified to ruin this housing on my first trip. I am taking it into the pool without my camera inside just to get the hang of it for now. But won't even do that until I hear back.

Thank you,

Jim

#2 johnspierce

johnspierce

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts

Posted 11 August 2013 - 01:50 PM

Yeah, that's an interesting conundrum isn't it?   The port extension will lock to the housing, but the port itself is merely screwed into the port extension - no lock.

In practice, I've never had an issue with it, but the port will definitely rotate on the extension.  I just always ensure the port shade is in the right position and that tells me everything is good.  I suppose if a person wanted to "dedicate" an extension to a port forever and ever, you could epoxy it into place.

Trust me, it works fine.  If you have a flood it's more likely because you made a mistake sealing the halves of the housing rather than the port coming loose.

take care,

JP

Nikon D7000 | Aquatica Housing | Inon Z-240

#3 team2jnd

team2jnd

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 11 August 2013 - 01:55 PM

Thank you so much. I see that aquatica makes a port lock collar. I might have to pick one of these up just for peace of mind. 

Thank you again,

Jim

#4 johnspierce

johnspierce

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts