• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 down4fun

down4fun

Starfish

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 September 2013 - 05:02 PM

I am a brand new beginner at photography. My question is this...I have access to two strobes. Is there any reason to learn with one strobe before starting to use two? 

#2 diverdoug1

diverdoug1

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 357 posts
  • Interests:UW photography, Cave diving, Trimix, Spearfishing, Saltwater fishing, Freshwater fishing, Skiing

Posted 23 September 2013 - 05:08 PM

no

#3 Stoo

Stoo

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 162 posts

Posted 23 September 2013 - 05:30 PM

no

What he said. It's no harder and you'll get better results right off the bat!

#4 Wilfred_Hdez

Wilfred_Hdez

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 October 2013 - 07:10 PM

Definitely two..

#5 joez2391

joez2391

Lionfish

• PipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:58 AM

I started with one strobe and found it to be a real hassle, you really have to fiddle with the strobes so much and hope that the scene youre shooting lines up on the opposite side of where the strobe is positioned.  although I have gotten some nice shots with one strobe, it creates some really hard shadows that works for some shots but not for others.  I say go for two and you can always experiment by turning one off if you want to try something different 

#6 scott68

scott68

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:57 PM

I started out with one strobe butt after a couple of dives found that two strobes gave me far greater options for lighting affects

#7 newmanl

newmanl

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 179 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:19 PM