6 replies to this topic

#1 kavset

kavset

Starfish

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 October 2013 - 04:42 PM

Hi

I've been diving for almost two years now without a camera after I drowned my last one, a Canon S80. Now I'm trying to find out what type of camera to by as my next one, and would like some help from you all.

I have been looking at SLR cams, but I would like to have the ability to do macro and WA one the same dive. Also I would like to have something that is lighter and easier to travel with and has less drag in the sea.

After looking a bit around on the net and in here, I can see that there is 3-4 types that seem to be the one that will fill my needs if I get some equipment to go with them. What I'm asking first of all is what camera is the best for diving when macro and WA is the most important and video is nice to have?

Second is, what equipment do I need to be able to do both macro and WA with these cams?

The cam's I have been looking at is:

Panasonic LX7

Sony RX-100 mk2

Canon G15

Canon G16 (this one do not have any housing other than the canon housing)

I'm greatfull for all the help I can get here :)

#2 kc_moses

kc_moses

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:17 AM

Hi,

I'm surprise no one reply yet. I have the LX7, it's very user friendly for custom white balance during video shooting, and it gives you the P/S/A/M (Program/Shutter/Aperture/Manual) control during video.

The RX-100m2 have same control during video shooting but it's custom white balance is not fun to use.

Canon is way behind on video feature, it controls everything for.

As for photo quality, it's quite subjective, the price of the RX-100 is way higher than the LX7. The LX7 can do both video and photo nicely, and is cheap, so that's my choice. The LX7 do have wide angle limitation, you can only get 100 degree FOV if using the Inon wide angle lens.