Photo

What adapter/cables do I need for a Canon 6D with a nauticam or ikelite housing?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 ChristineA

ChristineA

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:...really?

Posted 14 October 2013 - 05:48 PM

So I'm pretty ignorant about how strobes work with a housing... If someone can help shed some light, I would be incredibly grateful. 

I have never used an UW housing before, I am slowly gathering equipment so that can take photos with my SLR setup but I am a little confused as to what I would need to get two strobes working with my setup.

I currently own a canon 6D. This camera does not have a built-in pop-up flash. I am undecided between getting an ikelite housing or a nauticam housing. If money was a non-issue then the choice would be obvious, so I'm waiting a little to see how my funds go...

I am looking into getting two ikelite DS160 strobes since I have heard nothing but good things about them (but if anyone has other recommendations, I'm all ears). From what I understand, if I were to go with an Ikelite housing, there are already the necessary connectors built in it... For the Nauticam, there aren't. So here's my question:

-What connectors/cables, arms, ball joints etc would I need for an Ikelite housing? Is 
-Alternatively, what connectors/cables, arms and ball joints etc would I need for a Nauticam housing?

Also, because there's no pop-up flash on the 6D, is TTL impossible??

Thanks for all your help!

Edited by ChristineA, 14 October 2013 - 05:49 PM.

#2 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

Humpback Whale

• 3049 posts
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 15 October 2013 - 04:58 PM

Hi Christine,