• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 team2jnd

team2jnd

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 09:40 PM

I have been shooting landscapes for years. I can not stand when my photos are not tack sharp. I have spent a lot of time in trial and error learning the best techniques on land to get this sharpness. I am new to underwater photography and am starting from scratch. Thus far, it has been very frustrating for me. I have gotten many "good" photos, but they are all soft to me. Nothing close to the sharpness I see from many of the people on here. I know experience will be key, just as it was on landscapes. However, while shooting landscapes is something I can do every day, going diving is not something I have the opportunity to do daily so learning takes far longer. 

I shoot with a canon 5d ii, 15mm fisheye as well as a 100mm for macro. I have dual ds160s and an aquatica housing. For ports, I use the 9.25 megadome for fisheye and the manual focus glass port for macro. There are two things I can think of to get better focus but I wanted to get some advice. 

1st: a focus light. When I use auto focus, my camera takes forever to focus (one of the major failures of the 5dii in my opinion, horrible autofocus speed) I think a focus light would help big time. I also find that even when the autofocus locks, it is incorrect. Hopefully a focus light could fix both.

2cnd: for wide angle, I shoot mostly turtles and seals. I was thinking, if I were to set an aperture of about f11 and a distance of 3ft on the 15mm, that should give a good bit of wiggle room in depth of field. Does anybody do this? Dive with a preset focus? Seems like it would solve my problems of the lag time of autofocus. 

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jim

#2 Aussiebyron

Aussiebyron

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:39 AM

Hi Jim.

I have a similar setup but in Nikon Dx format with dual Ikelites161's with Aquatica housing.