• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Tzetsin

Tzetsin

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 01 December 2013 - 10:14 PM

Hello everyone, I was finally able to get my camera underwater last month, and I would like to know how you thought I did.

First a little background on me: 

I'm a hobby photographer thats been shooting travel / landscape images for the last 3 years or so, and I've gotten the technical aspect of photography down pretty good. Good landscape photography is pretty difficult in that you have a scene with lighting you cannot control and that is extremely high in dynamic range.  To combat this you have to be a dab hand in post, so I've got a good amount of experience with that.

I don't know much about fish, or anything underwater yet, though I love being underwater, and being able to see the wildlife so abundantly, and being able to shoot underwater was absolutely a blast (I wish i could "fly" on land!)  

The fact that I don't know anything about fish / underwater creatures or their behaviors has been a bit of a crutch I think.  Knowing behaviors would lead to more interesting images I think, but I've got what I've got so far, and only time will allow me the knowledge of behaviors anyway.  I'm very interested in the subject however, and I was hoping I could lean on you members here to feed this interest.

I was hoping also that you guys could look at some of the images i have complete here, and some more on my smugmug site and give me an overall idea of how you think I'm doing.  

I'll post a link to the page with all the images I have so far, and I'll post a few here for those that don't want to go outside the forum.  Thank you in advance for any insight you can give :)

Link to the rest

(I didn't put this in the critique section because it requires a single image for critique, I'm hoping for an over all opinion, so it doesn't fit there.)

A85P5477-Edit-M.jpg

ISO 800

Focal Length 100mm

Aperture f/5.6

A85P6149-Edit-M.jpg