Photo

I lost my camera, advice for an upgrade?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ocean_pony

ocean_pony

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 December 2013 - 04:06 PM

Hey everyone! I'm pretty new here, so I hope I can gather some good advice from you smart folks  :laugh:

I'm a rank amateur photographer that's been shooting for the past 5 years with a Canon PowerShot SD990 IS and housing, with no strobes. It's been a great camera, and I think I had just about pushed it to it's limits. 

Long story short, due to gear malfunction and general human error, my Canon is now either floating around or washed up on a beach somewhere in the Caribbean. So, before my next trip I am looking to upgrade! Problem is, I don't exactly know where to start.

Are there any cameras, strobes, or rigs you guys could recommend? I've been looking at a few Olympus cameras and housings, based on a recommendation from a fellow diver who took some killer shots.

In addition, I had some experience with a rental camera that had one strobe, and was thinking one would be enough for the next step, but reading around has almost convinced me that two strobes is the way to go. Problem is, The rental camera I used (some form of Sea&Sea) was so bulky even with 1 strobe, would buying 2 be worth the extra money?

#2 Glasseye Snapper

Glasseye Snapper

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Interests:Fish ID & behaviour and photos thereof

Posted 08 December 2013 - 05:14 PM