Photo
- - - - -

Is there a place for Instagram-esque post processing in UW photography?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mcliffy2

mcliffy2

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 19 January 2014 - 07:54 AM

I'm curious what people think.  My personal view had been that Instagram degrades photos in a way that can admittedly look cool on very small screens (e.g., an iPhone), but in the end, was not something that was viable for "real" photography.

However, I recently purchased the Nik Collection of PS plug-ins.  There are many professional photographers that I admire (e.g., Tony Wu) who are big proponents of Nik.  Some of the filters in the Nik Collection, especially in Color Efex, reminded me a bit of Instagram.  I started playing with them and begrudgingly admit they are kinda fun, and I like some of the results, even if they aren't exactly "realistic."  Here's one sample of a photo I ran through the Detail Extractor in Color Efex (to bring out the texture in the water surface), and then a Sepia preset in Silver Efex.  It is a bit hyper-stylized, but I think I kinda like it, in a guilty-pleasure kind of way. 

So what do people think?  Is this type of Instagram-esque post-processing cheesy?  Or is it a viable way to add some variety to our UW photos?   I have thick skin -- its OK if the consensus hates this picture and everything like it.  I'm more just curious what people think on this topic.

#2 Cary Dean

Cary Dean

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 277 posts

Posted 19 January 2014 - 11:40 AM

It's a nice image. Don't know if I like it sepia toned...

Why shouldn't you be able to process your images as you

see fit. It is your art after all.

I know many who take DSLR shot images and post to Instagram

as a social media marketing tool. I still prefer the mobile image

acquisition behind it though. Up to you I imagine.

Edited by Cary Dean, 19 January 2014 - 11:41 AM.

"The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever."