• Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 edmond320

edmond320

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 192 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 07:16 PM

12686324903_b596298a9e.jpg12686321213_222ae5727f.jpg12686169705_abfde3980e.jpg12686295133_81c358a6e0.jpg

#2 edmond320

edmond320

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 192 posts

Posted 21 February 2014 - 08:33 PM

Hi dear all,

I am a newbie to film ProRes or DNG raw file and I need you guys advice.

As I am not a video profession, I have limited knowledge on those file specification and advantages.

As more and more people like me will get their BMPCC housing from varies housing manufacturer, I hope you all can kindly share your experience how to set your BMPCC, especially focus on underwater filming.

Like most of you, my gears are:

BMPCC with Ninja 2 field recorder

Lens: for wide angle Panasonic 8mm, 7-14mm

for Macro : Olympus 60mm

I haven't get a chance to bring my gear into water, so I haven't test the buoyancy of the whole set. I might need to use different float arm for best float.

regarding my questions,

1. ProRes or Raw, which type you prefer ? Do I really need to film raw to get the most out of BMPCC advantage?

2. What framerate setting for BMPCC you prefer ? 

3. White balance underwater setting, under ambient light condition, and under video light condition?

4. With the around 2.88 crop factors of BMPCC, for wide angle filming, do your prefer 8mm fisheye or 7-14 ?

Thank you very much in advance and wish you all have a great time with BMPCC underwater.

Cheers

Edmond

Edited by edmond320, 21 February 2014 - 10:26 PM.

#3 thetrickster

thetrickster

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 264 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 01:35 AM

Hi Edmond!

my questions,

1. ProRes or Raw, which type you prefer ? Do I really need to film raw to get the most out of BMPCC advantage?

2. What framerate setting for BMPCC you prefer ? 

3. White balance underwater setting, under ambient light condition, and under video light condition?