Photo
- - - - -

Critique Please - I love this shot. Am I crazy?

Canon G16 Porcupine Puffer

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 linda99

linda99

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 08:08 AM

Hello everyone,   I am a very novice underwater photographer taking "point and shoot photos" for the past 5 years.   All my photography has been with  the Canon G-series cameras in the Canon case (no external strobes).   I'm at a point where I would like to up my game and have just purchased the G16.  I'm contemplating a strobe purchase.

This photo of the Juvenile Porcupine Pufferfish was one of my first photos with the Canon G16.  Taken about 5 meters in natural light in Cozumel.  I've done post editing (crop, sharpen, white balance, and minimal back scatter removal with healing brush).   I thought it was one of my lifetime best underwater photos...but then nobody likes to call their baby "ugly".   
One of the areas where I struggle is the post processing...I try to get the color as true as possible but I'm very aware that we don't see the true color of the fish without the aid of artificial light and I'm shooting with ambient light.    

Would some of you "expert" photogs please give me some feedback on my photo and my post processing?  Any advice welcome.  :-)Happy_Little_Puffer.jpg

Thanks so much...Linda 

#2 kc_moses

kc_moses

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 359 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 10:10 AM

I like that picture too! I would say the composition is great and you captured the right moment, much needed break from the rule of third composition.