• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Royal Editions

Royal Editions

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 March 2014 - 07:40 AM

Hello all!  I'm fairly new to WP, but I've been around the printing industry for quite some time now so I wanted to share some expertise and give you some pointers that you can take and apply to your photos.

So many of us spend so much time getting the photo just right, adjusting the color balance, or bumping a level just-so to give it that look we are really hoping to come across.  How many of us put the same effort into paper choices.  Do you pick it? Does your lab pick it? How will the color, the finish, the texture affect how your print is finalized and displayed?  These are some questions I hope to help answer.

Some Background

A little about myself.  I used to work for a printable material supplier here in Sarasota, FL.  A quick google search should help you see who.  I worked with over 400 photographers and artists nationwide, giving them advice on using the right material for the right application and dreaming up new, unique ways to display their work.  I grew a passion for the printing industry that I would have never imagined.  I decided to take my talents and knowledge and put them to better use.  I started Royal Editions where I utilize my skills as a graphic designer and knowledge of the printing industry to create magic :)  I'm not trying to promote my services as I don't want to break any rules but feel free to contact me if you have any questions on that front.

From pulp to paper

Some people don't realize or appreciate what goes in to getting a print in their hands and the truth is, there is a lot.  Most people are familiar with the paper made from trees, but in fine art printing there is so much more.  There is paper made from cotton, bamboo, sugar cane, plastics, trees, a mixture of all of these, and it keeps growing all of the time.

What does this mean for my print?