4 replies to this topic

#1 SharpDiver

SharpDiver

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 17 July 2002 - 06:18 AM

Photoshop 7.0 a worthwhile upgrade for DUW
A successful photo adventure like my two weeks in the South Pacific means something else when I get home. Hours and hours spent editing the pictures and preparing them for web publication and slideshow production. Just before I left for the trip, I dropped the 15 SCUBA-bucks ($150.00 to the uninitiated) required to upgrade my version of Photoshop to the latest version. I mention it here, because I know that several photographers, both film and digital, on the board use the program. It has a couple of features that I feel greatly improve its value as an editing tool for underwater photography.

My first Photoshop was version 2. For those who have followed its history, you know what that means. If you're not familiar with the product, it means I have been fooling around with this software for over 9 years. I can hardly say that I am an expert -- I'm not even very good compared to the people who use it on a regular basis, but I am familiar with many of its functions and have spent a lot of hours in its company. I have a shelf full of books on its use, some of which I have even read. One thing that I have always avoided in any version is any correction tool that had the word "Auto" in its name. Unlike some pro and semi-pro PS users, this was not out of snobbishness. I would love to have one-click color correction. Every time I upgraded, I would try the new and improved auto correction tools, only to have my hopes dashed again. Until 7.0. And even with this latest upgrade, I didn't even try the new "Auto Color" adjustment for weeks, because I simply knew it wouldn't work on underwater images. I literally did it by accident. I had a mouse slip that hit the Auto Color Button while following the laborious and often unsuccessful routine I normally use. I was amazed. Brightness, contrast, color depth, highlights, shad