3 replies to this topic

#1 i76

i76

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 June 2014 - 04:11 AM

Hello!

I am a photographer but I have never done underwater photography before. I will be going to Sipadan this summer and I am considering two options-

-either take my Canon 5D Mkiii or get a Nikon AW120

I do not have a proper housing for the Canon so I was thinking of maybe getting ewa-marine U-BXP100. Does anyone have experience with these? I understand they may not have the functionality of a proper housing but are they safe and reliable. I think camera would be destroyed if this housing leaked.

Another thing I am unsure about- what do you think would be a better lens to take (if I was to take only one)- 24/1.4 or 35/1.4?

And- would you recommend that I definitely take flash or can I do without it?

Many thanks in advance and I am looking forward to your replies!

#2 jmauricio

jmauricio

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 203 posts

Posted 23 June 2014 - 07:12 AM

Hi, welcome to wetpixel.

In order to provide you with the best info we need some more detail. specifically

• What is your prior diving experience?
  • What are you hoping to photograph in Sipadan (W/A or Macro)
  • Do you have access to underwater strobes?

Underwater is a completely different beast than on land. Generally speaking you want to be as close to your subject as possible. This usualy means use of wide angle lenses to get close to your subject but get it all in the frame at the same time.

Also, water changes the properties of a lens slightly. eg a 24mm underwater behind a flat port might be more like a 35mm FoV (not exact math). hence we use dome ports in order to restore the correct field of view.