8 replies to this topic

#1 ms67

ms67

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 01:24 AM

Hi everyone.

I'm a pro photographer from Sydney but have never taken gear in the water before.  I'm in the water nearly every day and just feel the need to get my gear wet, I haven't figured out what kind of photos I'll be taking, but I just want to have fun, and have something my kids can use.

I shoot Canon and have tons of spare gear, but I'm not really keen on housing for a DSLR due to bulk. A water proof compact is out of the question as I'd puke when I see the image quality they produce.

So I guess large sensor compact or mirror less is the go. Sony seem to be making great sensors these days, so that's a direction I'm seriously leaning.

Can anyone recommend a good large sensor mirrorless/compact water housing combo?

#2 gsk3

gsk3

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 03:09 AM

One of the Olympus micro 4/3.  You can get them for under $500 with housing.  Or an RX100 MkII housed (likely more $ after the housing costs).

Spend your money on:

- The tray

- The arms

- Proper buoyancy control (floats or buoyancy arms) so that it's approximately neutral

- Strobes or video lights

Then go shoot. 

#3 troporobo

troporobo

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 294 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 08:52 PM

If you have never shot underwater before, my guess is that your biggest mental adjustment will be about lighting. You have to have external lights, and their diffusion and reach behave very differently under water than on land. Good underwater lights (strobes or video) are also a lot more expensive than land photographers think they should be.  Many beginners start out cheap and often with only one light, but eventually upgrade.  I would advise starting with one good strobe, experimenting, then see how you like the results.  

#4 bear35

bear35

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 03:54 AM