Photo
- - - - -

RX100 + Meikon. Accessories? Lenses etc.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 sinetwo

sinetwo

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 August 2014 - 01:23 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to UW photography, but bearing in mind upgrades for my hopefully future expensive hobby, I had a few questions regarding the Meikon housing:

* Can you equip it with any lenses? I.e. Wide angle or macro?

* What strobe and rig set up do you recommend for beginners?

Thanks!

I won't be purchasing any time soon but i'm keen on budgeting and saving money early on so I can pull the trigger if I need to :)

#2 Interceptor121

Interceptor121

Great Hammerhead

• PipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 01:58 PM

Some of those cheap housing have an M67 thread so you can try and put an inon lens on it (best match for the RX100)

Strobe wise get a strong one like an inon Z240, the strobe will last longer than the camera. Money lacking you can try a sea and sea YS-01 quite powerful for the cost but limited control

Check my video, pictures and blog

YouTube Channel

Flickr Sets

Blog

#3 sinetwo

sinetwo

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 07:05 AM

Some of those cheap housing have an M67 thread so you can try and put an inon lens on it (best match for the RX100)

Thanks for your help so far, you've helped me on several occasions now :) MVP(oster)!

I haven't found any information on anyone using lenses on the Meikon housings, but I found this link and that suggests to me that it uses an M67 thread? Or is that just coincidental with the part number for the color filter?

https://www.aditech-usa.com/en/shop/1771-meikon-mk-rx100ii-sony-rx100ii.html 

This link states (although it looks like non-spec sales blurb) that is uses a 67mm thread, to use with macro lenses. I presume that means you could use an M67 Inon lens, whether that's macro or wide?

Thanks for your help so far, much appreciated.

#4 Rasul

Rasul

Hermit Crab

• Pip