• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 lewinp

lewinp

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 18 June 2004 - 06:37 AM

I've seen a number of photographer's websites where they have nice image protection - when you right click on an image, a dialog box pops up that says "Copyrighted image, permission is required to copy this picture," and you cannot "save as" to your computer. I am a graphic designer, and know there are a number of ways to get around this, but I think its a great way to hamper the casual image thief.

Does anyone know how you do this? I was not sure if its a script that has to run on a website, or if there is someone way you can add that protection (as a roll-over perhaps?) to an individual image. For example, a photo of mine was recently requested by a local park district for their website, is there a way I could add this feature to an image hosted on a website I do not control?

Any information would be appreciated!

#2 Detonate

Detonate

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Interests:SCUBA, Photography, Off Roading, Rock Climbing, Mt. Biking, etc...

Posted 18 June 2004 - 07:01 AM

Please, please, please don't do this.

This is the second most annoying thing web developers can do. The first being adding music...

#3 Detonate

Detonate

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Interests:SCUBA, Photography, Off Roading, Rock Climbing, Mt. Biking, etc...

Posted 18 June 2004 - 07:01 AM

Oh, and to answer the last part. It's a JavaScript, not a feature of an image itself.

#4 caveman

caveman

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 18 June 2004 - 08:57 AM

question, who would want them anyway ?

#5 lewinp

lewinp

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 18 June 2004 - 09:46 AM