• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kalliff

Kalliff

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 03:45 AM

I am new to uw photography, my camera is an Olympus C750 with strobe.

My first pictures turned out too blue as you can see:

http://www.scubaboar...00/ppuser/27219

I assume it could be because:

Exposure too short
f stop too high
too far away

If i'ts one of the first two is it better to increase shutter time or widen the apeture?

Thanks for any help.

#2 kdietz

kdietz

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1338 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 04:01 AM

Looks like a distance problem to me.......maybe a little strobe aiming also

There is no substitute for getting close.......don't use the zoom as much, this will force you to get close instead of relying on the zoom....you can out zoom your strobe

Don't aim your strobe directly at your subject.....I set mine square with the camera....almost dead ahead, unless I'm doing macro

The first picture got good light on it.....too much backscatter, but that can be fixed with strobe aim next time :)

Karl
Karl Dietz...Nikon D200...Ikelite iTTL housing...10.5mm...15mm FE...12-24mm...17-35mm...60mm micro...105mm micro...dual DS-200's
www.kdietz.com

#3 lewinp

lewinp

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 01:00 PM

A few other thoughts, but you are off the a great start:

when you shoot the fish from above over sand, the bright sand tells your flash there is too much light, and the strobe does not illuminate the scene to its full potential. Try shooting the fish from below - the blue water will not fool your flash as easily as bright sand. it also makes for a more attractive composition, since the fish jumps out agaisnt the plane blue (rather than belnding into the details of a reef)