Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Got the Z220 target light and laser to work on my A300


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 06 July 2004 - 10:01 PM

Thanks to a tip from Matthias:

http://www.digitaldi...y;threadid=7339

I now have working target light and laser.

Posted Image

All it took was a couple of 100kOhm resistor on the Aquatica board

Posted Image
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#2 beto

beto

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 July 2004 - 12:27 AM

Herbko,

That is great news!!! With the resistors installed, are the modeling light and laser on all the time, or just when you press the shutter? I assume they are on all the time, since the camera was not in the housing in your picture.

Could you tell us more on how you installed the resistors? I am not particulary an electronics wizard :oops: I would like to get that up and running with my strobe.

Thanks :wink:

#3 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 09 July 2004 - 12:35 AM

Herbko,

That is great news!!!  With the resistors installed, are the modeling light and laser on all the time, or just when you press the shutter?  I assume they are on all the time, since the camera was not in the housing in your picture.

Could you tell us more on how you installed the resistors?  I am not particulary an electronics wizard  :oops:  I would like to get that up and running with my strobe.

Thanks  :wink:


They are on if you turn the stobe knob to the light position, and they blink off when you press the shutter so the laser spot does not end up in you photo.

There's not much more about the mod than what you see in the photo. Solder a 100kOhm resistor from the 2nd to the last pin of each connector.
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#4 tank

tank

    Clownfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 12 July 2004 - 02:46 PM

Hi,
I have a 300D Rebel dslr in Ikelite housing. I have ordered the Inon D-180s and I was going to buy a Inon D-180 (which has the target light and laser) for the other side.
I am just wondering if anyone knows if the target lights work on this setup??? I had automatically assumed target lights worked until I seen this post.

Any input appreciated,
Cheerz
Derek

#5 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 12 July 2004 - 03:02 PM

Hi,
I have a 300D Rebel dslr in Ikelite housing.  I have ordered the Inon D-180s and I was going to buy a Inon D-180 (which has the target light and laser) for the other side.
I am just wondering if anyone knows if the target lights work on this setup???  I had automatically assumed target lights worked until I seen this post.

Any input appreciated,
Cheerz
Derek



The D-180 and D-180s are the wrong ones to get for the DRebel. They don't have sync cord connections, and are slaves only. You'll have to have another strobe that's connected to a sync cord to get any use from them at all. Get a Z220 or Z220s.
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#6 tank

tank

    Clownfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 12 July 2004 - 03:22 PM

I just purchased a NEW Y sync cord from Ryan @ underwater camera pros which does Ikelite to Inon strobes.

Posted Image

So D-180(s) has no 5 pin connector on them ?

Thanks
Derek

#7 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 12 July 2004 - 03:37 PM

I just purchased a NEW Y sync cord from Ryan @ underwater camera pros which does Ikelite to Inon strobes.

So D-180(s) has no 5 pin connector on them ?

Thanks
Derek


No. It's slave ONLY.
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#8 The Hamburger

The Hamburger

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Location:Thailand

Posted 21 July 2004 - 09:13 PM

Herb,

What if you use the INON optical converter and fibre optic sync cord.

Cheers

#9 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 21 July 2004 - 09:36 PM

Herb,

What if you use the INON  optical converter and fibre optic sync cord.

Cheers


Check with them, but I think that should work without modification depending on what you have. All they have to do is send light to the sensor to turn on the target light.
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#10 mooner

mooner

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 17 August 2004 - 10:21 AM

Hi Herbko-

I just got my Subal CD1 Dual. I'm running a 550ex land strobe in a Subal strobe case with Inon Z-220 on the other side.

Any idea if this resistor mod will screw up my other strobe?
Have you tried getting TTL to work too?

-Erik Moon
Canon 1Ds/1DII - Subal CD1 Dual - Subal + Canon 550ex - Inon Z-220

#11 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 17 August 2004 - 10:42 AM

Hi Herbko-

I just got my Subal CD1 Dual. I'm running a 550ex land strobe in a Subal strobe case with Inon Z-220 on the other side.

Any idea if this resistor mod will screw up my other strobe?
Have you tried getting TTL to work too?

-Erik Moon  
Canon 1Ds/1DII - Subal CD1 Dual - Subal + Canon 550ex - Inon Z-220


It's not a combination that will likely produce reasonable results unless the 550ex can be operated on manual mode. I've not bother with TTL, but Matthias has worked out a TTL interface circuit for the DRebel. Check with him if you're interested.
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro