3 replies to this topic

#1 Bevanj

Bevanj

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 28 December 2017 - 08:05 AM

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to underwater SLR game, and have a nauticam housing for my 5dmk3.

I've just pulled out a M16 blank in order to fit a vacuum valve. So - I've now got a single M16 port blank sitting here.

The housing also came with two capped nikonos bulkheads fitted which I don't plan to use.

Given I'm not planning on using nikonos style sync cables, will I lessen my chances of leaks by ordering another m16 blank and fitting them where the nikonos bulkheads were?

Cheers, and Merry Xmas everyone!
Bevan

#2 Tom_Kline

Tom_Kline

Great White

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Interests:fishes and invertebrates

Posted 28 December 2017 - 09:44 AM

Factory installed plugs should be OK if left alone. For example, I have never touched the plugs in my older Seacam housings that were originally intended for a "pilot" light switch. Some are > 10 years old. More recent housings use this same hole for the lens release. Keep in mind that there may be more than one potential leakage pathway in a bulkhead whereas a plug has just one O-ring.

Thomas C. Kline, Jr., Ph. D.
Oceanography & Limnology
Currently used housed digital cameras: Canon EOS-1Ds MkIII, EOS-1D MkIV, and EOS-1DX; and Nikon D3X. More or less retired: Canon EOS-1Ds MkII; and Nikon D1X, D2X, and D2H.

Lens focal lengths ranging from 8 to 200mm for UW use. Seacam housings and remote control gear. Seacam 60D, 150D, and 250D, Sea&Sea YS250, and Inon Z220 strobes.

http://www.salmonography.com/

#3 Kraken de Mabini

Kraken de Mabini

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Interests:UW photography, travel, carpentry, gardening, biology, medicine, physics, design & build UW custom gizmos

Posted 28 December 2017 - 05:07 PM