• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Pelzl

Pelzl

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 May 2002 - 05:25 AM

I am new to digital UW photography. I just got a C4040Z and an Ikelite housing. I am waiting on Ikelite to catch up on production to get the external strobe. What resolution setting will give me a nice 8X10 but allow me to shoot a good number of shots on a 64MB or 128MB smartcard? I realize tiff is probably overkill but is HQ enough?

#2 underwaterdigital

underwaterdigital

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 216 posts

Posted 22 May 2002 - 08:56 AM

Hi Pelzl,

I shoot with HQ and I get over 100 images on a 128MB SM card and you can definitely good a good 8 x10 print. Also, if you shoot HQ, a 128MB SM card is good for 2 dives. Hope this helps...

Allan
Allan

Sea and Sea DX100 with Inon X1 port, Inon Z22 quad ring flash, YS90DX and a bunch of lens, arms and ports.

#3 Pelzl

Pelzl

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 May 2002 - 10:36 AM

Allan,

Thanks for the info. Just out of curiosity what megapixel setting do you use? I set the camera in HQ 2272X1704 and with a 64MB card it said I have 64 exposures.

thanks,

Jeff

#4 underwaterdigital

underwaterdigital

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 216 posts

Posted 23 May 2002 - 10:54 AM

Jeff,

I have a C4040Z and I shoot in HQ. What kind of camera do you have? If you have the C4040Z then 2272 x 1704 is the resolution you'll get when you shoot in HQ.

Allan
Allan

Sea and Sea DX100 with Inon X1 port, Inon Z22 quad ring flash, YS90DX and a bunch of lens, arms and ports.

#5 Pelzl

Pelzl

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 May 2002 - 12:34 PM

Allan,

I too have the C4040Z. 2272X1704 is what I thought you were using but was not sure. I guess what I am trying to determine is go lower on the megapixel and use SHQ or stick with HQ at the higher setting. Based on what your first reply stated HQ seems like plenty of resolution.

thanks,

Jeff

#6 sean

sean

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 75 posts