48 replies to this topic

#1 satura

satura

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 20 October 2004 - 10:41 AM

Some questions to the experts:

Ikelite says an upgrade is required for optimal performance when taking pictures less then 5 sec. apart. This $50 upgrade disables the audiable ready signal of the DS125. I'm no engineer, but what does the audiable ready signal has to do with taking pictures less than 5 seconds apart???

Why is the conversion circuity not available for the 10D/G2/G3/G5 but only for 300D and 20D (in Dez.)? It does not fit mechanically into the housing, right? Would it fit if all the buttons were not required (10D has FEC "on board")

"more accurate eTTL pre-flash" (see: http://www.ikelite.c.../2canonTTL.html ) means the special "strobo preflash" I assume. Is high speed-sync supported which works with strobo flashes (see: http://www.chem.hels...ge/hispeed.html ), as well?

Are there any more 10D-ETTL options as:
-Ikelite (no 10D support?)
-Aquatica (no 10D housing?)
-Subtronic EOS 300D (Works with 10D?)
-Matthias' Converter units (Tests anywere?)
-housed land flash gun (urgs...)
-Sea&Sea YS55 ETTL (2*AA Power flash...)

Thanks in advance...

#2 Jolly

Jolly

Lightning Kraut

• PipPipPipPip
  • 835 posts

Posted 20 October 2004 - 12:10 PM

Hi Satura,

I think you should distinguish between two different things:

- real E-TTL strobe
- converter, allowing usage of some Nikonos TTL protocol strobes with certain (limited) E-TTL cameras

You might have read my post concerning the differences:
http://www.wetpixel....-start-30.phtml

Sea&Sea YS-55 is the only amphibic E-TTL strobe (unfortunately itís a joke, just look at it) until now. So it should work with every E-TTL camera. The Canon E-TTL protocol is fully implemented, like E-TTL landguns.