• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 cmdasia

cmdasia

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 24 June 2002 - 09:39 PM

I have a question (yes another!) about image printing - I am a beginner and have been taking my "keepers" to a local digital imaging centre (actually the only one where I live) and having the images produced through a machine the size of two large photocopiers and have been very very happy with the results from the the photocentre - I am paying about $4.50 for an 8" x 10" print.

Its not always convenient to traipse off to the store with my scant few images from a weekends diving and was wondering if anyone could give me pointers with the following questions:

1) Can I get comparable (say 80% of professional produced photograph) quality with a home printer and photo print paper?

2) Discounting the price of the actual printer could I print an 8 x 10 significantly cheaper at home?

3) Any advice on what printer I should, maybe, buy?

Thanks!

#2 rstark

rstark

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 406 posts

Posted 25 June 2002 - 08:52 AM

1. I would say that with the latest photo printers (6 color) you will not be able to tell the difference between them and custom lab prints.
2. The larger the print the cheaper it is compared to a good custom photolab. If you are comparing the price to Walmart or those type of places then you will not be saving any money.
3. I like Epson printers. If you need one now and want large output get the 1280. I really think Epson will be coming out with a new printer this year to replace that one (in europe they released it as the 950 already).

________
Robert

#3 cmdasia

cmdasia

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 26 June 2002 - 07:00 PM

Many Thanks!

I think your comment #1 has made the descision for me - I will now have to start investigating a purchase.

#4 davemak

davemak

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 38 posts

Posted 27 June 2002 - 03:00 AM