Photo
- - - - -

Blue Corner in Palau.....kicked my butt!

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 CamDiver

CamDiver

Great White

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1103 posts
  • Interests:Filming and documentary production. Beach and surf photography. Family time, isolated beaches and walking the dog.

Posted 14 December 2004 - 11:35 PM

Hi Guys,
Seeing as we're all divers here I thought I should share a recent event which only deepened my respect for the watery medium I choose to call my office. I am new to Palau having moved over just 3 months ago after 3 years on Yap. I had the pleasure of diving with Douglas David Seifert for the past few days including one fateful day on the Blue Corner site.

The day was fantastic. Clear skies and calm seas. We had made one dive previous to our awakening and decided to make a second with the incoming current, good for shark action, schooling jacks and 'cudas. Almost ready to jump in we noticed that the surface had changed in its calmness. Not that it had become inclement in any way its just that the surface seemed to be moving......really fast!!! First warning signal. So we jumped in expecting to meet the hoards of sharks David was there to snap as well as the friendly Napoleon Wrasse by the name of Mellisa. We were met with a massive current so severe that it was scouping up deep water jellyfish and hurtling them at the reef. massive upcurrents were ricocheting off the reefs and as Blue Corner is basically a plateau there was a wicked downcurrent on the outgoing side of the reef.