• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Spinner

Spinner

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 02:20 AM

Stupid question, but where can I get a +4 diopter as recommended on Ikelite's site? This is for a Tamron 28-75 mm XR LD Di (whew!) behind a Ikelite #5503.80 dome port.

"Zoom Lenses usually require addition of a +4 diopter close-up to the lens for full range operation underwater behind a dome port."

I've never used a zoom lens underwater before, so have never even seen or touched a diopter. Does it screw in like a filter? Are they lens diameter specific? Are there differences between different brands? Who the heck makes them anyway?

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
Ben

#2 kdietz

kdietz

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1338 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 04:01 AM

I got my B&W +4 diopter from B&H photo....online at www.bhvideo.com

Karl
Karl Dietz...Nikon D200...Ikelite iTTL housing...10.5mm...15mm FE...12-24mm...17-35mm...60mm micro...105mm micro...dual DS-200's
www.kdietz.com

#3 Starbuck

Starbuck

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 04:41 AM

Hi Ben-

This was a topic of discussion a little while ago on the board.. BH photo is a good place.. What I learned is that there are single element diopters and multi element diopters. Some people will swear by the multi element (more expensive) diopters. Also, Ike may sell a diopter for your lens.. Ask. They have specific diameters and screw onto the front of your lens like a filter.

This link posted by James has info on the subject to keep you busy for awhile!

http://medfmt.8k.com/mf/diopter.html

M.

#4 richgarrett

richgarrett

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 08:24 AM

I have two tiffen 52mm +4 diopters on ebay. take a look at

http://cgi.ebay.com/...item=3861000025

rich

#5 Spinner

Spinner

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 18 December 2004 - 08:31 AM

Thanks for the fast feedback everyone!