15 replies to this topic

#1 gdcraft

gdcraft

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Interests:U/W Digital Photography

Posted 03 January 2005 - 07:16 PM

Hello All.... I have been shooting with point and shoot for a couple years. Have had great sucsess with my Olympus C4040. But it got droped at x-mas. So I am on the hunt for a new camera befor a trip to Cozumel in January.

I am looking at steping up to a PRO level SLR. I am interested in the Canon 20D and Nikon D70 and Olympus e1.

Looking for others comments. ie... why the E20 vs the Rebel.

What lens is a good lens that will let me on a dive take both close up (macro) and sea-scape shots. Looking at the 17-85 lens on the E20

If I go with the standard 18-55 lens will i be disapointed?

Can I use a dome for a longer lens so that i dont have to purchase 2 or 3 ports?

Rookie to SLR

Graham
www.tropicaldivers-omaha.com

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 03 January 2005 - 07:58 PM

Hi Graham,

Your first stop here should be the Features Section. Click on Wiseman Beginner Column and read the articles about upgrading to a DSLR. I think that will answer a lot of your questions

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 Peter Schulz

Peter Schulz

Manta Ray

• Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 468 posts

Posted 03 January 2005 - 09:20 PM

And the winner is .... the Canon 20D. At least for now that's what folks on this and other forums seem to be buying.

First is was the Rebel which was a bit dumbed down, but a good start. Then the D70 came out with a faster sync speed and better controls and that's what folks got, including me. And now the Canon 20D is out with a few more mega pixels and the better controls the Rebel was missing. So now the 20D is the favorite. Canon, Nikon, Canon ... think lenses ... who makes good lenses?