14 replies to this topic

#1 mark jones

mark jones

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 18 April 2002 - 01:21 PM

just read all the tips on the forum for shooting with G2
i've just got a G2 and a DS-125 strobe , i'm new to underwater shooting and new to my G2 and how to get the best results . i'm going to the maldives at the weekend and can't wait to use the set up !!
i noticed that i have the raw format but this reduces the amount of images on my cf card (what are the advantages of RAW to J PEG ) . i'm taking 2 x 128 & 2x 64 cf cards so i'm limited on image capacity . can anyone give me any advice on what modes i should use to start off with or any other advice to get the best images. Also any advice on strobe position etc .
many thanks
mark

#2 derway

derway

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1136 posts

Posted 20 April 2002 - 08:05 PM

First, practice a lot, in your living room. Don't need water. Make sure you can get decently exposed shots of a pillow, with no surge...

the difference between raw and jpeg is too much to go into. There is a lot of good info in the canon and canon SLR forums, at dpreview.com. Basically, raw gets out every bit of information, which the CCD sensor produces. Then, after the fact, you convert it, as desired. This is great, because it is like a digital negative. As you get better, or new conversion schemes are developed, you can go back, and get more out of your images.

If you are just starting, and not planning on shooting a ton of keepers right away, then shooting highest quality jpeg would be ok.

Remember to shoot Av mode, flash forced on, no red eye reduction.

ASA 50 seems to work best, noise wise.

Strobe positioning is another good thing to practice at home. Move it around, and see how the lighting angles effect the image.