6 replies to this topic

#1 ReefDiver

ReefDiver

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 13 July 2005 - 02:08 PM

Hi Folks:

I am a newbie to this forum and have a question? Does anyone know where I can purchase an underwater housing for my Nikon 995 digi camera? I have done extensive searches online and have found out that both "Ikelite" & "Aquatica" have discontinued this particular housing unit and are no longer making it. I will be diving in the Caribbean from Aug 7th through the 14th and was hoping to find a housing ASAP! Thanks in advance for any help.

Steve

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 13 July 2005 - 03:03 PM

Buying a new expensive housing for an obsolete digital camera is like buying a DVD burner for your IBM 286 - it just doesn't make financial or practical sense. When I bought my Ikelite housing the the Coolpix 990 back in 2000 it cost over $600.

For that price you can buy a NEW Fuji 810 camera and Ikelite housing. You could easily get both before your trip in August.

How's that sound? :-)

Alternatively, call Ikelite and see if they have any inventory of the old 995 housings - it's a pretty nice housing, just very big.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 ReefDiver

ReefDiver

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 13 July 2005 - 04:21 PM

I get your drift James and thanks for the reply. Although I would look into buying a Cannon, Olympus, or another brand rather than a Fuji, just my preference. BTW, I did call Ikelite and they indeed do not have any Nikon 995 housings left.

Other than the megapixel diference, what makes the Nikon "obsolete" as you put it??? Finally, where would you suggest buying that camera outfit that you mentioned? Thanks

Steve

#4 anthp

anthp

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1334 posts
  • Interests:Photography in Le Grand Bleu.

Posted 13 July 2005 - 05:22 PM