Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Canon 5D official announcement


  • Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

#121 Jolly

Jolly

    Lightning Kraut

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 835 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 31 August 2005 - 11:37 PM

I prefer the bigger size too when the camera is in my hands. But I do topside photos in certain situations where the smaller size is important. Everybody who has used a 10D knows the 5D size already. The 5D is just a few millimeters wider and due to the uncropped full size viewfinder about 10mm taller in the middle.
For me the 5D is perfect in terms of size. Small if it is important and with grip the right size if I want it (long telelens, vertical shooting, etc.).

There is a size comparison in the white paper between 5D (without grip) and 1D series (pic attachement).

5d.gif

Julian
| Canon 5D I+II / Sealux CC5-GD I+II custom converted | 2x Ikelite DS-125 | ULCS |

#122 echeng

echeng

    The Blue

  • Admin
  • 5844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 31 August 2005 - 11:52 PM

Regarding my comments above, I was referring to my topside preferences, by the way. Underwater, smaller is just fine.
eric cheng
publisher/editor, wetpixel
www | journal | photos


#123 yahsemtough

yahsemtough

    Great Canadian Mokarran

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 01 September 2005 - 06:08 AM

Regarding my comments above, I was referring to my topside preferences, by the way. Underwater, smaller is just fine.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


We're not talking about Seinfeld and Herb again are we? ;)
Todd Mintz
tmintz.com
all photographs posted Todd C Mintz

#124 gregarius

gregarius

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 01 September 2005 - 01:51 PM

I'm still waiting to hear if the 5D will work in the Subal C10 housing.
Canon 5D, Subal, Sea&Sea Auto 90

#125 bacripe

bacripe

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palm Beach, FL

Posted 01 September 2005 - 02:08 PM

I don't know as far as other housings go, but I'd be willing to bet that it'll work in the Sea & Sea D60 housing with minor modifications. I have been succesfully using my 20D in a Sea & Sea D60 housing with no problems - the housing has so much extra space, I'm sure the 5D will fit also. From quick measurements it looks like it may also fit in the Aquatica 20D housing, but it's a little hard to say.
Brian Cripe
Canon 1DmkIII, 1DsmkIII

#126 Simon K.

Simon K.

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 637 posts
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany

Posted 02 September 2005 - 01:04 AM

I don't know as far as other housings go, but I'd be willing to bet that it'll work in the Sea & Sea D60 housing with minor modifications.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


If this is going to be true I'll order two 5D the moment they hit the Market.