CDNN copyright violation and fraud
#1
Posted 07 September 2005 - 06:24 PM
Ken Knezick and some others are taking action against the parent company, which owns Cyberdiver, ScubaLinx, ScubaPoll, and a total of 45 related domains. All of them are hosted here:
The Planet Internet Services, Inc.
1333 Stemmons Freeway, Suite #110
Dallas, TX 75207
http://www.theplanet.com/
1-800-377-6103
If you have been a target of Cyber Diver and want to do something about it, please contact me, or Ken Knezick.
UPDATE:
Check out http://divepoll.com, which posts news exposing CDNN for their fraudulent actions.
#2
Posted 08 September 2005 - 06:33 AM
and they grabbed an entertaining photo of me that they do not have permission to use
Cyberdiver copies and uses whole articles that are copywrited material, let alone many images.
As much as I love the work of Frans Lanting, he is not an underwater photographer.
Just another feature of Cyberliar.
#3
Posted 12 September 2005 - 11:04 PM
On a positive note Eric, you beat Jeremy Stafford-Deitsch - that's not too shabby!
Good luck!
#5
Posted 12 September 2005 - 11:19 PM
http://www.google.co...rch?q=scubalinx
Also, a link by Bonnie about Cyberdiver copyright infringement:
http://www.underwate...s.com/cdnn.html
#6
Posted 13 September 2005 - 12:28 AM
And since when was Mr Waterman a photographer? He's a moving picture guy
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in Indonesia or Join me on a trip www.underwatertribe.com
#7
Posted 13 September 2005 - 10:49 AM
If you have been violated by this guy, please do get in touch with Ken, Eric or myself. Especially on copyright infringements that you have documented or that are current.
Bonnie
World's Worst Underwater Photographer
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#8
Posted 15 September 2005 - 09:37 AM
D300, D200, D70, 12-24 f4 AFS DX, 60mm f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 AF-S VR, 105 f2.8 AF-S VR, Tokina Wunderlens.
Photo galleries @ Ruaux.net
#9
Posted 15 September 2005 - 12:41 PM
Joe
Author, Catalina Island - All you Need to Know
www.californiaunderwater.com
www.visitingcatalina.com
#10
Posted 15 September 2005 - 12:51 PM
Cheers
James
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org
#11
Posted 15 September 2005 - 01:54 PM
I'm a web designer who also loves UW photography. Now that I've said that, I would expect our friend to start a web design poll (currently under construction) so their "quarter million consumers" can put me at the bottom of that list too.
I've recently discovered that blog too and have sent DMCA requests to Google to get the IP addresses of those who posted there and to have the content removed.
Onward
Bonnie
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#12
Posted 16 September 2005 - 06:06 AM
Joe
Author, Catalina Island - All you Need to Know
www.californiaunderwater.com
www.visitingcatalina.com
#13
Posted 16 September 2005 - 06:44 AM
Now Erics low score in the environmentally friendly category may be reasonable after he admitted poking that poor jelly with a stick.
But he should at least have a 10 in the website category. After all didnt his website (wetpixel) win the best underwater photography website award...
Canon 5D Ikelite Housing and strobes
15FE | 24/2.8 | 35/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 150/2.8 macro
#14
Posted 16 September 2005 - 06:48 AM
Joe Diver
Author, Catalina Island - All you Need to Know
www.californiaunderwater.com
www.visitingcatalina.com
#15
Posted 16 September 2005 - 07:33 AM
Cheers
James
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org
#16
Posted 26 October 2005 - 08:56 AM
Anyway some more info about CDNN copyright infringement (from Jeremy):
This piece bashing Ritter:
http://www.cdnn.info...al/o050814.html
was written by me and posted in my name on Shark-L but turns up on this website under another name with CDNN claiming copyright too!
The mirror image head of the white shark in BW here
http://www.scuba-for...hark/shark.html
and in colour elsewhere on the website is my image used without my permission. I emailed them twice and told them to remove it but they ignored me.
#17
Posted 17 November 2005 - 09:36 PM
Funny how this guy got his "quarter million independent dive consumers" to vote so fast!!
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#18
Posted 17 November 2005 - 09:41 PM
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#19
Posted 25 September 2006 - 12:05 AM
http://divepoll.com/
#20
Posted 25 September 2006 - 01:00 AM
FYI, There is a new website collecting information against Cyber Diver News Network and ScubaLinx:
http://divepoll.com/
There must be some mistake. I'm not listed! Is that because of my reputation for issuing proceedings?
I buy my own photographic kit. Diving equipment manufacturers and diving services suppliers get even-handed treatment from me whether they choose to advertise in the publications I write for or not. All the equipment I get on loan is returned as soon as it is finished with. Did you know you can now get Diver Mag as an iPad/Android app?
