CDNN copyright violation and fraud
#21
Posted 25 September 2006 - 10:11 AM
#23
Posted 29 September 2006 - 03:51 PM
I'm eagerly awaiting my rank on their photographer polls to drop down below zero, once they see the post about them on the front page.
Bonnie -- I will beat you yet!
Nice job Eric!! But I seriously doubt that you will steal away my crown as world's worst underwater photographer. I'm still anxiously awaiting his Scuba Poll web designer rankings. Its been "coming soon" for about three years now.
Finally the word is getting out there that his web site does not publish real news and his rankings are bogus. I'm glad I'm not only only person exposing him. I'd love to meet this guy face to face someday. If it ever does happen I will probably not know it because he's way too much of a coward to introduce himself to me. I should be paying him a referral fee for all the business he brings me.
I voted! Did you?
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#25
Posted 13 October 2006 - 04:46 PM
http://wetpixel.com/...r-news-network/
I received yet another e-mail today from someone who has been exploited by CDNN, and am trying to get permission to write about the story.
#26
Posted 19 April 2007 - 12:17 PM
http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=18619
#27
Posted 19 April 2007 - 04:32 PM
At least they credited Alex for having pioneered the use of telephoto lenses underwater ;-)
- Col. John "Hannibal" Smith
------
Nikon, Seatool, Nexus, Inon
My Galleries
#28
Posted 20 April 2007 - 08:16 AM
Bonnie sure has a nice publicity photo on that site. It beats Eric's hands down.
Hey, I worked hard for that! After shutting them down several times on copyright infringement and getting their hosting companies to boot them off their servers, I really thought they might dream up with something more original and creative. Its kind of fun to taunt them to see what they come up with next. So Eric's going to have to piss them off a few more times if he want my spot on that list.
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#29
Posted 21 April 2007 - 12:54 AM
hahaha
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in Indonesia or Join me on a trip www.underwatertribe.com
#30
Posted 22 April 2007 - 05:49 PM
#31
Posted 23 April 2007 - 01:30 PM
Have you seen the underwater photographer ratings on ScubaLinx? Not only are the ratings totally arbitrary, but anecdotal evidence suggests that they use these rating systems (this particular one, and others) as a weapon against people who they don't like, or people who pull advertising from their websites. I am rated a whopping 1.43 out of 10, and they grabbed an entertaining photo of me that they do not have permission to use (which paints me in a negative light).
Ken Knezick and some others are taking action against the parent company, which owns Cyberdiver, ScubaLinx, ScubaPoll, and a total of 45 related domains. All of them are hosted here:
The Planet Internet Services, Inc.
1333 Stemmons Freeway, Suite #110
Dallas, TX 75207
http://www.theplanet.com/
1-800-377-6103
If you have been a target of Cyber Diver and want to do something about it, please contact me, or Ken Knezick.
UPDATE:
Check out http://divepoll.com, which posts news exposing CDNN for their fraudulent actions.
I thought you said in one of your postings that the law states you cant do anything about people putting bad things about you on the net? Its horrible when someone makes up stuff and puts it on about you isnt it. tut. So what do YOU think the best way to get out of it is?
#32
Posted 23 April 2007 - 01:49 PM
You have misunderstood the point of this topic, which is about CDNN's copyright violations and blackmailing tactics.
I don't care if people write bad things about be on the web.
(also, I wrote nothing similar to what are are claiming).
#33
Posted 23 April 2007 - 05:08 PM
If the idiot who runs Scubapoll had any idea of how many images I've sold because of traffic they drive to my site, they wouldn't have me on that list at all. I guess people wonder how bad I can be to deserve such a bad rating. So they check me out, like what they see, and buy from me. I've picked up a lot of website business too and have made some pretty interesting friends in all this. Putting my anti-cyber diver page on my website was the best thing I ever did. I get emails from all over the world from other people who are being blackmailed by CDNN. Us "victims" have to stick together!
I've also learned a ton about copyright because of them and as a result have collected big bucks in settlements from other infringers. Its kind of funny that the result of what CDNN is trying to do to me (ruin my business, reputation, or whatever???) has actually had the opposite affect. Thank you Cyber Diver!
The thing that scares me is what this nut case might do next to someone he hates. The words in that letter he wrote to Manthiri are coming from a very deranged individual who is already waaaaay off the deep end. I hope he doesn't show up at a trade show with a gun.
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#34
Posted 24 April 2007 - 01:08 AM
Lisa - Welcome to Wetpixel.
You have misunderstood the point of this topic, which is about CDNN's copyright violations and blackmailing tactics.
I don't care if people write bad things about be on the web.
(also, I wrote nothing similar to what are are claiming).
Hi. thanks for the welcome.
No im not saying you wrote nothing bad about someone. Im being serious, Its horrible when someone disses someone. I am serious when I ask what can you do about it? The interent seems to be used as a tool for revenge more and more these days and its getting out of control. Can't you report them? Is there a governing board?
#35
Posted 14 April 2008 - 04:45 AM
#36
Posted 14 April 2008 - 05:02 AM
#37
Posted 14 April 2008 - 05:36 AM
Someone just forwarded me a lovely post on CDNN:
http://www.scuba-for...eeding_152.html
Unreal. Do not know what to say, was going to post over there, but why bother. It sucks when people do things like that, and I am sure you have learned to take some of it in stride, but sorry someone has done that to you.
#38
Posted 14 April 2008 - 07:16 AM
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#39
Posted 14 April 2008 - 11:09 AM
And checkout their rules here - the post is in full and absolute violation of rules 4 & 5 here:
[quoted from: http://www.scuba-for...ules/rules.html]
SCUBA FORUM RULES
4. SCUBA FORUM forbids posting profanity and indecent material.
5. SCUBA FORUM forbids posting harassment, threats and personal insults.
The focus is on nurturing well-written, intelligent analysis, thoughtful commentary and spirited, civil debate as opposed to generating hundreds of thousands of often trivial and meaningless posts that reduce the forums to lowest common denominator chit-chat.
Eric Cheng is one of the most positive forces in underwater conservation today and posts like this should not be allowed on responsible forums so consider the source....
Carol
Edited by seagrant, 14 April 2008 - 11:10 AM.
Twitter-Oceangrant
Facebook-Oceangrant
d300/Subal/ULCS/Sea & Sea 110s/16;12-24;60;105vr;Tokina 10-17
#40
Posted 14 April 2008 - 11:20 AM
If I thought it was worth my time I'd sign on and post to KJ to meet me in Riviera Beach at JASA's parking lot. But he's likely an internet bragging wuss and wouldn't show anyway....
The best use of any diving computer guru's time would be to figure out how to crash or delete CDNN from the web entirely.
dhaas
www.haasimages.com
