6 replies to this topic

#1 expatdiver

expatdiver

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Interests:Travel, Golf, Darts, Brewing

Posted 16 September 2005 - 10:11 AM

I have read a few of the other posts on using RAW cature tools, but none of them satisfied my curiosity.

I am currently using ACR and PS CS2, and would like to know what you guys recommend for doing adjustments.

Are there any adjustments that are a must in the RAW converter, or can you do everything in PS? Normally, about the only thing I touch in ACR is the exposure, but I am new to RAW and am not sure what I should play with.

Here is an example from my first time out with my DLSR.

Original (ACR: WB=As Shot, All sliders=Auto)(PS: Resized & Saved as JPG)
_DSC0076.jpg

Final (ACR: Exposure)(PS: Crop, Color corrections, resize, & save JPG)
Fringed_blenny_02_copy.jpg

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Doug

ps - Maybe one of the Mods could move this to the image improvment forum?
Nikon D70s w/Ikelite Housing, Dual DS-125 Strobes, 10.5 & 105
expatdiver's Photo Galleries

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 10:44 AM

Hi Doug,

This is the start of a great thread - and may be destined for the "Best of Wetpixel."

Personally, I always adjust WB, exposure (both highlights and shadows), vignetting, and Chromatic Aberration (lens) in ACR.

In CS2 I adjust sharpening and crop, but that's usually it.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 richorn

richorn

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 462 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 11:15 AM

In ACR: White Balance first and foremost, then Exposure, Shadows, Saturation, Vignetting, and Chromatic Aberration. I take a quick "peek" at curves as well. I also crop in ACR wherever possible, and choose a resolution based on my expected final output. In most cases this is an up-rez for printing.