Results: Ocean Art 2019

Overall winner and Coldwater category winner by Greg Lecoeur

The results of the 2019 Ocean Art Underwater Photo Competition have been announced. The winning image was taken by Greg Lecoeur and features a crabeater seal (Lobodon carcinophaga) diving close to some brash ice in Antarctica. The contest awarded 16 categories and many congratulations to the many Wetpixel members that are in the placings.

List of Winners

Wide Angle

1st Place: Nicholas More
2nd Place: Tobias Friedrich
3rd Place: Adam Martin
4th Place Borut Furlan
5th Place: Taeyup Kim
Honorable Mention: Alessandro Buzzichelli
Honorable Mention: Jose Antonio Castellano


1st Place: Stefano Cerbai
2nd Place: Wu Yung-Sen
3rd Place: Dave Johnson 4th Place Petr Polách
5th Place: Hakan Basar
Honorable Mention: Paolo Bondaschi
Honorable Mention: Yatwai So

Marine Life Behavior

1st Place: Paula Vianna
2nd Place: Paolo Bausani
3rd Place: Steven Kovacs
4th Place Hannes Klostermann
5th Place: Pedro Carrillo Montero
Honorable Mention: Steven Kovacs
Honorable Mention: Jason Cluen


1st Place: Virgina Salzedo
2nd Place: Davide Lombroso
3rd Place: Claudio Zori
4th Place Emry Oxford
5th Place: Mok Wai Hoe
Honorable Mention: Greg Lecoeur
Honorable Mention: Galice Hoarau


1st Place: Greg Lecoeur

2nd Place: Tobias Friedrich
3rd Place: Johan Sundelin
4th Place Johan Sundelin
5th Place: Aldo Costa
Honorable Mention: Celia Kujala
Honorable Mention: Mirko Zanni


1st Place: Jenny Stock
2nd Place: Andrea Pescarolo
3rd Place: Andrey Savin
4th Place Mauro Apuleo
5th Place: Cedric Peneau
Honorable Mention: Chun Ho Tam


1st Place: Paolo Isgro
2nd Place: Leon Zhao
3rd Place: Paolo Isgro
4th Place Qing Lin


1st Place: Eduardo Acevedo Fernandez
2nd Place: Nicholas More
3rd Place: Enrico Somogyi
4th Place Greg Lecoeur
5th Place: Yen-Yi Lee
Honorable Mention: Nicholas More


1st Place: Fabien Michenet
2nd Place: Paolo Bausani
3rd Place: Steven Kovacs
4th Place Lureen Ferretti
5th Place: Tianhong Wang
Honorable Mention: Fabien Michenet
Honorable Mention: Steven Kovacs
Honorable Mention: Suzan Meldonian


1st Place: Shane Gross
2nd Place: Alessandro Grasso
3rd Place: Brooke Lori Pyke
4th Place Nicole Helgason
5th Place: Francis Perez
Honorable Mention: Pasquale Vassallo
Honorable Mention: Rafael Fernandez Caballero

Underwater Art

1st Place: Francisco Sedano
2nd Place: Enrico Somogy
3rd Place: Jenny Stock
4th Place: Tae Wok Kang
Honorable Mention: Kimber Greenwood
Honorable Mention: Aîa Mar

Novice Wide Angle

1st Place: George Kuo-Wei Kao
2nd Place: George Kuo-Wei Kao
3rd Place: George Kuo-Wei Kao
4th Place Jake Wilton
5th Place: Jeongin Kim
Honorable Mention: Jeongin Kim

Novice Macro

1st Place: Julie Casey
2nd Place: Michael Loh
3rd Place: George Kuo-Wei Kao
4th Place Mel Wu
5th Place: Kierstin Zetterberg
Honorable Mention: Naomi Strong

Compact Wide Angle

1st Place: Talia Greis
2nd Place: Minsik Roh
3rd Place: Benhur Sarinda
4th Place Enrico Somogyi
Honorable Mention: Enrico Somogyi

Compact Macro

1st Place: Stan Chen
2nd Place: Stan Chen
3rd Place: Fabien Martinazzo
4th Place: Fabien Martinazzo
Honorable Mention: Donghoon Lee
Honorable Mention: Alessio Tinti

Compact Behavior

1st Place: Ferenc Lorincz
2nd Place: Fabien Martinazzo
3rd Place: Willy Irawan
4th Place Simon Deblock
Honorable Mention: Lawrence Wu