Results: United Nations World Oceans Day Photo Competition

Underwater Seascapes Winner: Nur Tucker

The winners of the 2021 United Nations World Oceans Day Photo Competition have been announced. Many congratulations to all the winners in their respective categories, especially given that they have each signed the UN Charter of Ocean Commitments.

Press release

June 8, 2021 New York, NY - The winners of the United Nations World Oceans Day Photo Competition were announced during the virtual United Nations World Oceans Day Event on June 8, 2021. The event and Competition are produced by the United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs, with production partner Oceanic Global. The Competition is curated by Ellen Cuylaerts, hosted by DivePhotoGuide (DPG), and supported by Blancpain.

Judges and curator announced the first, second and third place images from around the world in six categories during a 15-minute video segment. This year’s judges: Jennifer Hayes, Julian Lennon, Joakim Odelberg, Ipah Uid Lynn, and Michel Strogoff.

Congratulations to the category winners, Renee Capozzola (“The Ocean: Life & Livelihoods”), Pawel Zygmunt (“Above Water Seascapes”), Nur Tucker (“Underwater Seascapes”), Francisco Sedano (“Digital Ocean Photo Art”), Sayaka Ichinoseki (“Faces of the Sea”), and Tom St George (“Oceanic Discoveries”); and to all placed and participants.

All participants signed a Charter of 14 commitments regarding ethics in photography.


The Ocean: Life & Livelihoods

Winner: Renee Capozzola

2nd Place: Jacopo Brunetti

3rd Place: Henley Spiers

Honourable Mention: Víctor-Núñez

Digital Ocean Photo Art

Winner: Francisco Sedano

2nd Place: Brett Stanley

3rd Place: Renata Romeo

Above Water Seascapes

Winner: Pawel Zygmunt

2nd Place: Christophe Mason-Parker

3rd Place: Fernandez Caballero

Honourable Mention: Matthew Meier

Oceanic Discoveries

Winner: Tom St George

2nd Place: Hannes Klostermann

3rd Place: Sirachai Arunrugstichai

Faces of the Sea

Winner: Sayaka Ichinoseki

2nd Place: Sam Briggs

3rd Place: Evans Baudin

Underwater Seascapes

2nd Place: Marchione Giacomo

3rd Place: Kevin De Vree