Sign in to follow this  
Jane Morgan

Octopus ID

I took a picture of this tiny octopus in about a metre of water in the sand off the beach in Nuweiba, Red Sea. I havent been able to find a picture of him in any of the Red Sea guides, and the local guides had not seen him before.. perhaps he is some kind of juvenile - can somebody help? :)

post-4483-1138539492_thumb.jpg

It is certainly a long arm octopus, Jane. And that white line running along the base of his arm makes him look very much like a mimic. But I'm no expert.

An very interesting find in the Red Sea. I am not aware of these guys being reported in the Red Sea.

Alex

Thanks Alex. Had thought myself that he could be a mimic from pictures that I've seen in the past, but had not heard of them in the Red Sea... interesting!! I'll have to investigate more. He did change colour slightly while I was watching him, but that was all. When I swam over him he was quite disguised and a similar colour to the sand but I recognised the shape and swam back for a closer look. He then became darker in colour... dont know if that helps!?! :)

I just had a look at the original (only) papers about the Mimic Octopus and at the time they were written it was thought to be restricted to the Indo-Malayan archipelago.

It is always struck me that there are a lot of good muck diving sites all the way up the Gulf of Aqaba and yet we Europeans trek all the way to SE Asia to see critters!

Alex

I couldnt agree more.. having visited Taba, Nuweiba and Aqaba over the past year I have been blown away by the amount of critters to be found in this part of the Red Sea... although the Arabic mimic octopus is possibly not as common as those in Lembeh... :)

We think with a high degree of certitude, but not 100 % (almost) that this is the newly described "Mimic Octopus" Thaumoctopus mimicus Norman & Hochberg, 2005.

See Molluscan Research 25(2): 57-70.