Geo1140

In need of Sugestions/Info

I am going to Bonaire April 29th (my first trip there) and I am new to UW Photography..My set up now is D70s Ike housing Ike 125 strobe (one) and all I have now for a lens is the kit lens (18-70)......I want to get a lens before I go and I can only afford one right now. I am not looking to do macro right now and can afford about $500 -plus the port...So if you could only have one choice what would that be. As I see it right now My choices are Tokina 12-24, Nike 10.5, Nike 16, Sigma 15, Nike 60

I would also like to get some tips on Bonaire ie..dive sites, places to eat or not to eat, places to go and to stay away from Ecct...from someone who has been..I will be staying at Plaza Resort..did I make a good choice...is there a place you liked That I can check out for the next time I go.

Thanks In Advance

Geo

George,

I own the 10.5mm, Nikkor 12-24mm and the Sigma 15....considering your requirements I would get:

Sigma 15 for WA....very close focus, sharp and affordable....easy to use

Nikkor 60 for macro....versatile and sharp

Karl

Hi George-

I agree with Karl on the lens choices... you could also add a Woody's diopter to the 60mm and get a little more macro out of that setup..

Try to do the salt pier...some really cool critters hanging around and I've seen more than one award winning photo shot from this area..

Plaza very nice but I like Buddy Dive down the street a little better...they have a good night dive with lots of big tarpon that always make good subjects..

Have fun and post some photos!

M.

here is a link with pictures from cozumel that will give you a good idea on what the 18-70 and 60mm will give you..

http://homepage.mac.com/mikepalasz/PhotoAlbum9.html

If just 1, then (for Bonaire), the 60mm -- I found way more macro opportunities than WA.

My second choice would be either the Sigma 15 or Nike 16 for Bonaire -- though I expect you'll want a Nike 10.5 down the road.

All the best,

Chris