allenj10

Experiences with the Sea & Sea DX-8000G?

I was considering purchasing the Sea & Sea DX-8000G for my upcoming trip to the Galapagos. I'm an amateur photographer and currently own the Sea & Sea MX10.

I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience with this camera and if they would recommend it.

Also, I'm wondering what other digital setups people might recommend for my level of photography.

I read the review on this site which gave some good information. I'm also looking to hear first hand experience of those who use it on a regular basis.

Thanks in advance.

Jason.

Hi Jason and welcome to Wetpixel.

What would you like to know that's not covered in the review - perhaps I can help.

Cheers

James

Hi James,

Thanks for the reply. I thought the review was informative, but it seemed it was based on a one-time use. I'm curious to here what amateur photographers that used it on a regular bases thought.

Although I'm only an amateur, I'd like to see samples of what a skilled photographer could take with this camera.

I see some of the amazing pictures that Alex Mustard takes and realize this camera has no comparison to his Nikon, but, it would be nice to see what it's capable of.

I can't afford to spend $10,000 on a setup, which I assume his Nikon setups cost, but wonder if I could spend say another $700/$1000, etc. that would give me a noticeable difference.

It's hard for me, an uninformed digital user, to know what's good/bad/etc. The 8000G is going to cost me around $1600 brand new for a complete setup, what would you recommend that might be comparable or better...

Thanks again for your reply...

Jason.

Hello Allen!

Some time ago I wouldn´t look at the sea&sea DX-8000G but a very, very fine photographer from Spain started to put some of the pictures he has taken with that camera and...

http://www.fotonatura.org/galerias/galeria...id_galeria=2199