Simon K.

Good Advanced Amateur/Prosumer/Semi-Pro Setup

Hi,

my girlfriend is finally bored to just be my spotter and wants to start UW-Video.

Now we are looking for a nice setup.

It don't hav to be absolute "hi end" but we want something that we don't get buyers remorse after a couple of dives because an important feature is missing.

The problem is, I know a lot about UW-Photography but have no idea what are important features for UW-Videography.

If I would be looking for a Photo Camera I would ask for "RAW-Capable, Fully Controlable Manualy, decent and fair priced Housing" and recommend myself a Canon G or S (before 70) Series or a Olympus x0x0 Series Camera.

But What are the key features for Video? And what are recommendable Setups?

Do we need lights from beginning or are filter (real or post-production) enough for the first couple of trips?

Anything else we should know as newbies?

Thanks in advance

Simon!

I'll off a few thoughts, but I'm a newbie myself so you'll have to take what I say with a grain of salt. I'm sure the more experienced people here will jump in with any necessary corrections and more required information.

Seems the first question you'll want to decide is whether you want HD capability or not; that can significantly influence the camera you buy.

Then next question might be which brand? Personally I would look at the two latest Sony offerings - particularly the HC7. The problem there, though, is that it was just announced and won't be available for another month or maybe more. And then there's no housing for it yet, either. But the price is right for "prosumer" IMO, and surely the housing makers will be jumping on it right away. If I were looking I'd consider it worth the wait of a few months to get that one.

You don't need light(s) to begin with. I should think you'd have to be looking at that before too long but the first couple of trips as you mentioned might work out well without having to worry about it to begin with.