scubanerd

Light & Motion HC3 review

Background:

I just spent 11 days shooting with the HC3 in Cozumel, MX. Before the L&M housing, I shot with a JVC-DVM70u housed in an Ikelite housing. I have been shooting UW video for about 7 years, mostly with the Ikelite housing. I decided on the L&M HC3 housing because it allowed access to MWB, I thought Gates had better optics but no access to MWB.

I already had a trip planned to visit Cozumel to see the hurricane damage in person and my JVC camera had finally died; it was time to upgrade. On a side note, Cozumel is fine and I had some of the best diving I have ever had in Cozumel.

My Setup:

L&M HC3 housing with standard port

Wide Angle port

Sunray-S Pro HID lights

2.5 external monitor

White Balance:

In case it is not clear, MWB is accessed on this housing using a 'plunger type push dial' that presses the appropriate screen options. To MWB you have to press the plunger on the 'p-menu' screen option, then press 'White Balance', then the 'One Push' button to actually perform the balance. Finally you have to press 'OK' to remove the on-screen menu.

As you can probably guess I initially found MWB to be difficult to use. You would think that looking at the screen and pressing the options would be the best route, but I found NOT looking through the screen and using the dial pointer worked better. You always hear that your mask will refract the image, trying to look through the screen window and point at a touch screen is a great example of it. I found that I would get my MWB set, but when I went to press 'OK' to clear the screen, I would accidentally press the 'One Press' again. Now my camera would MWB on whatever it was pointed at. Once this occurs, you have to re-MWB. ARGH!!!