Sign in to follow this  
Synthesizer Patel

new housing - old strobes

Hi have finally taken the plunge and made my first move away from 35mm to digital with the purchase of a used ikelite housing for an eos10d from ebay yesterday (at an almost embarassingly low price).

I'm a student so cash is tight so I am hoping I can save myself a fairly big chunk of cash by keeping my old but still very much functioning 100a's

as I understand it, provided I upgrade my strobe cables to the newer digital compatible ones, this should be fine ( although I won't get eTTL - which at this stage I'm not too bothered about anyway)

However I have read that SOME Ike housings may need additional modification in order for this to work.

Has anyone here tried the ike eos10d / older ike strobe combination before and found it to work?

any other advice?

thanks in advance

Synthesizer Patel,

I'd email ikelite (address on their web site) and specifiy the housing you have (I can't remember if the Canon 10D housings had eTTL or not) and what exact strobe you have (Substrobe 100A, right?)

They wil advise if anything else needs to be done to your housing and what cord(s) (as in "old" style film TTL cords, or newest Blue banded Digital TTL capable ones) and what combination can be used in manual mode.....

Hope this help!

David Haas

Thanks David

I contacted ikelite a while back when I was looking at some other housings (350d & d70) - they were uncharacteristically unhelpful when asked that question and pretty much just quoted what it says on their website verbatim:

"(2) Old SubStrobe Ai, MV, 50, 100, 200, and 400 models can be used, but operate only as manual strobes. The housing back may still need to be returned to us for conversion circuitry modification to utilize these older pre-digital era strobes. "

my local ike dealer (and when I say local I mean over 300km away!) didnt seem to know either.