Sign in to follow this  
Synthesizer Patel

Canon DSLR / ike housing lens questions

Hi - have finally taken the plunge and made my first move away from 35mm to digital with the purchase of a used ikelite housing for an eos10d.

Although I used to shoot on a nikon f90 underwater, I do have some old canon glass however I tried them out on a friends eos350d and I get the dreaded "err99" - so presumably they will be incompatible with my new eos10d too.

so looking for some lens advice.

For CFWA I'm pretty much decided on what to get (sigma 15mm FE), but agonising slightly over macro and general portraiture - especially as ports (don't really want to be carrying 3 or 4 ports on every dive trip) and price are an issue (I'm a student).

For macro I'd love a 105mm, but they are pricey and I'd need to buy a new port too - so instead I was very interested in the canon 50mm macro - you can pick them up off ebay for not much more that £100 and apparently I can use it with a 5503.50 dome port - which I already have.

can anyone give me an opinion on the lens itself?

What's it like behind a dome port? acceptible? too much pincushioning?

I'd also like zoom for general portraiture - on the f90 i'd use a 28-80mm - what would its equivalent be on a canon dslr (still not 100% au fait with cropping factors)? any recommendations for something like this that'll fit behind a 5503 or 5503.50?

thanks in advance

Just remember that the sigma 15mm will not give you 180 degrees on the cropsensor 10d camera.

The Canon 10-22 will infact be wider than the sigma on your camera, but Im not sure if this lens will fit on a 10d...

Another interesting alternative is The Tokina 10-17mm fisheyezoom

I guess the 50mm macro is an cheap alternative, but remember that this lens will not let you closer than 1:2...

So if you are interested in small things such as nudies and stuff, I would not recommend this lens...