ViperDoc

Nikon D2X vs D200 - need advice

Hello all. I'm new to the forum and have learned a lot. Been diving a while and after a long absence I'm getting back into the sport with a vengence. I have done some UW photography in the past. Learned on the old Nikonos V and now I'm looking at going digital. I'm curious as to what the experts say concerning which would be the better way to go concerning these two cameras. Each has their own strong points. I'm not really worried about price at the present. Whichever camera I pick will also do double duty topside in aviation photography and medical shots (I'm an orthopedic surgeon).

I plan on doing a lot of diving in the future and UW photography and video is my goal to become adept at.

Thanks for any advice.

Dave

I'd say D200. Smaller and therefore housing is smaller. Also much less space and price to take a second body. Or get a Fuji S5, which fits in the same housing, for a different type of camera as a back up.

The D2X is ahead in image quality and auto-focus, but the differences are pretty small.

Alex

I'm with Alex on this. I reasoned two D200s would be more sensible than one D2X for travelling with and going underwater. The housing is smaller and having a spare gives piece of mind and doubles for top-side shots so the housing needs to be broken into less often. As for quality, with the RAW converter with CS3, it seems much more than adequate. I already had to buy a new laptop to handle the files!

Maybe if you were shooting advertising campaigns the D200 would not be good enough but then you'd probably have to go the whole nine yards and get a digital Hasselblad.

Hmm,

I disagree! If i could go back in time i would buy a D2x, or maybe wait for a D3 rather than my D200.

My reasons being that the total investment you will make on a housing etc, the price difference between the two is only a small %.