stewsmith

where to go next...please help me choose

ok heres the deal.... i havent been diving very long, just over 3 years, i have logged 200+ dives already, all of them in warmer waters to the uk. i have been to kuredu - vilamendhoo - fiha lhohi in the maldives,

2 red sea liveaboards, galapagos, bunaken and lembeh, sipadan - mabul - kapalai, komodo, similan - surin in thailand.

i have the cocos booked for this christmas, and i am struggling for my next adventure. i am just getting into photography so ideally i would like to be diving in clear waters. have any of you guys got any suggestions, reccomendations of where to go next year. i would have loved to get on to one of jim abernathys tiger trips to the bahamas but they are booked up already so thats gonna have to wait till 09.

Impressive list!

Truk, Palau, Yap?

Cozumel and the greater Caribbean?

Seychelles/Aldabra?

Fernando de Noronhna (Brazil)?

Papua New Guinea?

Raja Ampat?

So much water and so little time!

Edited by jlyle

brazil.....now there is somewhere i have never even looked at going......cheers.

raja ampat is on my list already, i am waiting for a guy i know to finish construction of his liveaboard before i go there.

brazil.....now there is somewhere i have never even looked at going......cheers.

raja ampat is on my list already, i am waiting for a guy i know to finish construction of his liveaboard before i go there.

Or you could go somewhere colder like Canada, or Alaska or Norway.

COCOS! - but you're going there so I'd say hit the carribian, Belize or Cayman are fantastic. The kelp forests in California are very cool too.

Maybe it's just me, but reading where he has dove, IMHO, the Caribbean would be disappointing.

Well, I just got back from the Barkley Sound at Vancouver Island. So far my favorite place for diving and I can say I have been quite spoiled being a professional travel photographer and journalist.