ronscuba

Sony FX7 & Gates housing videos

Here is a link to some videos from my 1 week trip to Roatan in the Caribbean. This was my 1st time with the camcorder and housing UW. Everything shot without lights, MWB. Closeups shot with flip diopter.

Hosted on Stage6 Divx. Not full resolution HD, but still pretty good for internet viewing.

FX7 videos

I am a hobbyist and vacation diver, so forgive my camera and editing skills.

Thanks Ron. Nice job on the soundtrack and voice over. Did you do much color correction? DivX does a nice job. I ask about the color correction because you really crushed the blacks in a few of those clips. I like that alot. Was it DivX or you who did that?

So did you crush those blacks or not Ron? Or haven't you got the foggiest what Drew's on about?

Those are some cool videos, especially for your first time with the rig underwater. Nice white balance and personally I couldn't see much noise on the low-light stuff. Looks like the FX7 is a good U/W camera. Also a nice choice of music and I like the little sections of voiceover.

So did you crush those blacks or not Ron? Or haven't you got the foggiest what Drew's on about?

Yeah, tell us about the blacks, it was very impressive !

HCA

Well done...apart from wobble wobble.... they were nice clips.

A single CMOS camera will not handle blacks like that in dark places thats for sure.

Divx is sharper than WMV or Flash..might give it ago again.

Let's all guess:

I say either PP CINEMA or CINEMATONEGAMMA on. Contrast enhancer OFF. As well as DIVx compression.

Whaddya mean? Everybody understands what I'm on about most times. :(

Once again, all Im hearing is:

Blah de blah, blah, wibble dribble nibble de fibble...

:(

Dive safe

Dean(crushed blacks..What is he like)B

I guess you guys are on a different time zone than me. Because I never seem to be online when you guys are.

OK, contrast enhancer was on, cinematonegamma off.