seamonkey

questions about A570

I have read all I can find on this forum about a good beginner camera. It seems as if the Canon A570 with the Ikelite housing is the best affordable option but i have a few unanswered questions. we are particullarly interested in shooting small stuff. How is it for macro? Is the lens it comes with sutable for decent macro photos or would folks recommend purchasing a macro lens? Can you change lenses on this camera? Can you switch modes between video and still photo underwater?

and what is RAW? (i am new at this)

Thanks for any help.

I have the Canon A570IS with the Canon WP-DC12 housing so cannot tell you anything about what you can and can't do with the Ikelite housing. With the Canon housing, you are able to change from still to video mode very easily underwater. Inon do a bayonet lens mount that fits the standard Canon housing, this mount is compatible with their AD series lenses (fisheye, macro and wide). All these lenses are underwater/wet changeable. As for shooting small stuff, it is possible to shoot fairly close with the macro setting with good picture quality. If you have the money though, I guess you couldn't go wrong with buying a macro lens as part of your setup.

and what is RAW? (i am new at this)

Thanks for any help.

RAW pertains to how images are generated in the camera. As you no doubt know, light hits the camera's sensor, and is converted into digital information by the sensor. This digital information is then processed to generate the image that you finally get from the camera.

Most point and shoot cameras produce images in only one format - jpg (or JPEG). To generate the jpg image file, software inside the camera carries out a number of processes, including: