easydiver

Fisheye Fix Mini LED --- Bad Review

Having decided that I needed a focus light so my camera can autofocus in our dark Pacific Northwest water I went with the inexpensive Fisheye Fix Mini LED light. I'd already spent a lot of money on a new camera rig so I attempted to save some coin on a small accessory light.

The light gave off a pleasing bluish-white light with a very nice, smooth pattern and the strobe detection auto-shutoff appeared to work well. However, the light flooded during its first dive in fresh water, then again several dives later. I inspected the light and lubed the O-ring prior to diving. The O-ring was apparently in good condition, although it did seem rather thin.

I have been diving for over 24 years I've only had one light flood---and that's because I didn't reinstall the O-ring following a trip (it was removed for air travel).

I contacted the vendor and was told it was operator error, however I've read several reviews on Wetpixel of this same light flooding under similar circumstances. Unfortunately I didn't do my research prior to purchasing the light. I'd also read several comments that the vendor I used had great customer service, but I had to contact them for a response rather than having them freely provide me with their evaluation of this light after I returned it to them for testing.

It seems like it would be a great light if it didn't fill up with water.

I'm sorry to hear about the flood. I was considering purchasing this light as a focus light. I'm wondering what others have experienced.

Hartenberger Mini focus - expensive, but top quality and well worth it !

The Fantasea or Suprema 44 LED dive light is a great focus light. Used it extensively in January, nice white diffused light, my 5D & 40D had no problems with auto focus and best part, the light didn't scare the mandarins!

Stu

My Fix mini LED focus light has partially flooded which made it a bit flaky untill I squirted WD40 into the head. Works OK now.