WaterMama

Mask with good vision

Hello

Can anyone suggest a decent mask with good vision. the generic one I have seems to fog up constantly.

Another basic question - I know - from an absolute beginner!

Cheers - Sarah

fogging: all new masks need a really good clean, some suggest toothpaste. Then each time before you are to use it (while it's still dry) do a giant golly on the inside glass surface and rub it around with your fingers, coating the entire glass surface, then gentle wash the golly out. Some people use a solution of baby shampoo and water instead of golly.

Best mask: there will be many answers to this. Everyone is different but I like a low volume mask, with a small distance between your eyes and the glass, lets you see a greater angle. I like a black mask so that stray light doesn't close down my pupils, thus making it easier to see into the dark viewfinder.

Very important: make sure it fits, different faces fit different masks.

Any good dive shop should have a good range to choose from and be able to help you with fit. I love my Oceanic Shadow.

Edited by photovan

fogging: all new masks need a really good clean, some suggest toothpaste. Then each time before you are to use it (while it's still dry) do a giant golly on the inside glass surface and rub it around with your fingers, coating the entire glass surface, then gentle wash the golly out. Some people use a solution of baby shampoo and water instead of golly.

Best mask: there will be many answers to this. Everyone is different but I like a low volume mask, with a small distance between your eyes and the glass, lets you see a greater angle. I like a black mask so that stray light doesn't close down my pupils, thus making it easier to see into the dark viewfinder.

Very important: make sure it fits, different faces fit different masks.

Any good dive shop should have a good range to choose from and be able to help you with fit. I love my Oceanic Shadow.